Bruce Springsteen to Release California Pop-Style Album ‘Western Stars’


Bruce Springsteen has announced a new album called Western Stars, which will be released on June 14.

The beloved New Jersey balladeer says he was inspired by the pop music that came out of Southern California in the late 1960s and 1970s. It’s the first studio album for The Boss in five years. 

“This is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping cinematic orchestral arrangements,” he said in a release. “It’s a jewel box of a record.”

While some of the recordings were done in California, most of the recording sessions were done back east. Pre-order begins Friday and an advance single will drop after midnight tonight.

Also on the album is his wife, Patti Scialfa, who arranges vocals on four tracks and sings, David Sancious of the E Street band, Charlie Giordano and Soozie Tyrell. Ron Aniello produces.

Springsteen gave hints on Instagram on Wednesday, releasing a series of photos that look like they were shot in Joshua Tree.  His successful Springsteen on Broadway became a Netflix movie to which there was a soundtrack release.

Bruce Springsteen, ‘Western Stars’ Track Listing
“Hitch Hikin'”
“The Wayfarer”
“Tucson Train”
“Western Stars”
“Sleepy Joe’s Cafe”
“Drive Fast (The Stuntman)”
“Chasin’ Wild Horses”
“Somewhere North of Nashville”
“There Goes My Miracle”
“Hello Sunshine”
“Moonlight Motel”