Morrissey All-Covers Album, ‘California Son,’ Features LP, Billie Joe Armstrong, More

California Son by Morrissey is due in May


Morrissey hosts a bevy of stars on his latest all-covers album, California Son, including Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day, Petra Haden and LP.

Morrissey wasn’t joking when he told us last year he was working on a new record. He just didn’t mention one of his California pals, Billie Joe Armstrong, performs on the record too. With a ‘Who’s Who’ of rockers joining him, who isn’t on this record?

Morrissey poses with Steve and Billie Joe at Ramones tribute – Photo by Donna Balancia

The upcoming work California Son, drops May 24 (Etienne-BMG). The golden state has become Morrissey’s adopted home and he’s made some great California friends to join him on the new record.

Check Out Morrissey, Billie Joe Armstrong and Duff McKagan at Johnny Ramone Party

LP and Morrissey

LP teams with Morrissey on a gorgeous and semi-operatic version of “It’s Over” by Roy Orbison, which you can hear here. Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear and Sameer Gadhia of Young the Giant also play on the record.

Other artists covered on the work include Bob Dylan, Jobriath, Carly Simon, Buffy Sainte Marie, Phil Ochs, Laura Nyro and Joni Mitchell. Check out the track list below.

Morrissey is about the fans. - Photo © 2018 Donna Balancia
Morrissey is about the fans – Photo © 2018 Donna Balancia

“When I would think of Morrissey and his music it was always with great respect and appreciation as I’m sure is the case with many of his fans,” said LP. “However, I soon realized when I hung out with him and he played me all the songs he was putting on this record that behind this was the heart of an audiophile and a deep fan of his own musical heroes.” 

LP hits the notes with her audience - Photo © 2018 Donna Balancia
LP hits the notes with her audience – Photo © 2018 Donna Balancia

Morrissey – California Son tracklist:
1. Morning Starship (Jobriath) with Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear
2. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell) with Ariel Engle of Broken Social Scene
3. Only a Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan) with Petra Haden
4. Suffer the Little Children (Buffy St Marie)
5. Days of Decision (Phil Ochs) with Sameer Gadhia of Young The Giant
6. It’s Over (Roy Orbison) with LP
7. Wedding Bell Blues (The Fifth Dimension) with Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day & Lydia Night of The Regrettes
8. Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)
9. Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett)
10. When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon) with Petra Haden
11. Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)
12. Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)

Morrissey – It’s Over: