California Rocker ‘Hot New Videos Vol. 3’ Playlist: The Mrs, Swervedriver, Julia Jacklin, Jetboy

California Rocker Hot New Music Videos Vol. 3 features new productions by The Mrs, Julia Jacklin and Jetboy. In each volume of California Rocker Hot New Music Videos, the staff selects the hottest music videos by new and established musicians. 

‘The Same Rock’ by The Mrs

Austin-based, all female alt-rock band The Mrs released their new music video for the song, “The Same Rock,” on the new album Five Minutes. Credits: Produced by Gavin Jasper, Andra Liemandt, Directed and  edited by Hearty Films. Location: Sekrit Theater, Austin.


‘Spiked Flower’ by Swervedriver

Swervedriver has a new album, called Future Ruins out now via Dangerbird Records. Swervedriver features Adam Franklin on guitar and vocals, Jimmy Hartridge on guitar, Mikey Jones on drums and Mick Quinn on bass.


‘Pressure To Party’ by Julia Jacklin

Directed by Nick Mckk and Julia Jacklin and director of photography is Sam Brumby. Guest Appearances: Cecil Coleman, Sophie Mccomish, Georgia Wilkinson-Derums, Annabel Blackman, Eamonn Briggs, Emma Jacklin, Arlo Fuller, Felix Jacklin, Audrey Jacklin, Harry Fuller. Thanks to Jean Paterson.


‘Brokenhearted Daydream’ by JetBoy

The band founded in 1983 by Billy Rowe and Fernie Rod, Jetboy reveals a new video, “Brokenhearted Daydream” off the album Born To Fly.


‘Cry For Another’ by Claude Fontaine

Claude Fontaine just signed with Innovative Leisure and releases the video “Cry For Another.” The video is directed by Sam Kristofski and director of photography is Marz Miller. Fontaine shares her debut single, “Cry For Another,” a heartfelt nod to the Studio One, Trojan, and Treasure Isle records that inspired it. “‘Cry For Another’ is about the feeling when someone is slipping through your fingers, and even though you know that person may not be right, you’re still pining for more.” 



‘Culture’ by Hembree

Hembree performs “Culture” on Oread Records. It’s the first bit of music from the Kansas City-based Hembree since early 2018.  Flynn points to the boundary-pushing production, rhythm, and pastiche of hip-hop as a strong influence on Hembree’s sound.


‘Desperate’ by Jonas Blue, Nina Nesbitt 

Multi-platinum UK hitmaker Jonas Blue has unveiled the official video for “Desperate” featuring Nina Nesbitt – a key track from his debut album Blue. Blue is available for purchase and streaming via Astralwerks.

Directed by Patrick Tolhill, the cinematic visual for “Desperate” was shot in the scenic countryside of Nashville, Tennessee. It follows a young woman played by Nesbitt torn between the demands of her heart and her mind. As it plays out, she’s shown contemplating the state of a troubling relationship.


‘Slow’ by Lowland Hum 

The video was made by Lauren Goans of Lowland Hum. A visual companion for Lowland Hum’s song, “Slow” using imagery from “Reflections In Space,” and “Mystery of Space.” “Reflections In Space” is a film by Bernard Beane, Philip Courter and Harold M. Weiner, featuring the interpretive dance of Edward Villella and the work of other visual artists inspired by outer space. Both films are public domain and can be viewed in their original forms via


‘Self-Amusing Smile’ Problem Daughter 

“Self-Amusing Smile” is from the forthcoming LP “Grow Up Trash” out March 22  on Wiretap Records (US) and Bearded Punk Records (UK/EU).


‘Stay Around’ by American Authors

“Stay Around” is the latest video by American Authors: Zac Barnett (vocals), James Adam Shelley (guitar/banjo), Dave Rublin (bass), and Matt Sanchez (drums). The four came together at Boston’s Berklee College of Music in 2006. They moved to the Bushwick section of Brooklyn, and started a band, releasing a series of indie EPs over the course of five years.  


‘Crashing’ Illenium ft. Bahari

Denver-based artist Nick Miller—known professionally as ILLENIUM—shares his first single of 2019, “Crashing” featuring Bahari, today via Astralwerks. The musical backdrop contrasts with hypnotic harmonies shared by critically acclaimed L.A. electronic duo Bahari—Natalia Panzarella [singer, bassist] and Ruby Carr [singer, keyboardist]. 


‘Wayfaring Stranger’ by Dean Wareham and Cheval Sombre

“Wayfaring Stranger” is from the fun new album from Dean Wareham and Cheval Sombre. The video is directed by Jonathan Bree.


Play God’ by Sam Fender

The video is directed by Vincent Haycock.


12′ by Bedstudy

Stars Riley Ceder and Sebastian Borberg, directed and Edited by Tess Lafia. Animation is by David Herrera.


‘Homing’ by Yoke Lore

An artist in every sense of the word, indie pop sensation Yoke Lore (Adrian Galvin) merges his talents to create an experience beyond his music and his new animated video for “Homing” features his own art with that of illustrator Emily Nava. “Homing” is the final track on his 2018 EP, Absolutes, of which Galvin says, “’Homing’ is about seeing the search for love as a search for a home.”


‘Lifted’ by Parker Bosley

Today, Bossley drops the single’s video, directed by Sebastien Sdaigui (Future, 2 Chaniz, Desiigner) which accurately mirrors his vibrant spirit, and sees him channel all of his glam-rock idols. “Sebastian and I were influenced by late 90s rock videos,” says Bossley about coming up with the concept of the music video for “Lifted.” “We saw parallels between the energy, carefree optimism and escapism of many of the videos of that era and the concept of the song, and that those same things can ‘lift’ you through the trials and tribulations of youth.”


‘We are Liberty’ by From Sorry to Serenity

In the Hardcore genre, From Sorry to Serenity announces their new album Reclaim with the new single and video for “We Are Liberty”. It’s the second single taken from the band’s 2nd studio album “Reclaim” which will be released on March 22nd, 2019 via Long Branch Records.


‘Heartbreak (for now)’ by Roman Lewis

British singer-songwriter Roman Lewis shares debut EP “Heartbreak (for now).”


‘Grip’ by Seeb x Bastille

On the video, Seeb explain; “We’re really excited to share the music video to Grip. It’s been a blast working on this song with Bastille and it makes us so happy to see how both our own fans and Bastille’s fans have embraced the song.  On the collaboration, Bastille’s Dan adds “Seeb turned our big, messy guitar song into something new and completely different, 


‘Buckshot’ The 1865

Inspired by found images, “Buckshot” illustrates the emancipation of slavery, and what America in 1865 looked like. The band’s social justice motivated songs feature different explorations of life in 1865 America, a land living in the shadows of the fallen confederacy. 


‘Be Loud’ by Mr. Koifish

Music by: Mr. Koifish; Illustration by: Jody Barton; Animation by: Philip Piaget; Released By: Emailing While Intoxicated Records.


 ‘Lost My Mind’ by Dillon Francis & Alison Wonderland

“Lost My Mind” from platinum-selling DJ and producer, Dillon Francis and Aussie superstar Alison Wonderland is finally upon us. The track, which the pair teased during their respective performances at EDC Orlando back in November is available now for digital download and streaming across all major music platforms